Coming to a Close

First off, I want to thank each and every person that has read this blog. I know we all have busy lives and even if you just read one blog it makes me feel like I accomplished something. When I began this project, I thought that this was my chance to challenge myself, and make myself really learn, but also learn what I wanted to. I had tons of plans of all the topics I would explore. I sadly ran out of time and I completed the project sooner than I anticipated, but that taught me something. I have a thirst for knowledge about nutrition. It does not have to stop with this project. This goes for anyone. If you have a desire to learn, you should just simply do it. It is never too late to teach yourself something new.

From the topics I have learned about, I really want to do everything I can to apply it to my life. I am going to be graduating this coming May. In the next couple of years, I will be establishing myself as an adult and the lifestyle that I want to develop. I hope to take this knowledge and apply it in all aspects of my life. This could include the portions I eat for dinners, to the snacks I decide to take to work, and to the new areas of cooking I explore. This project also taught me that anyone could change their diets if they put their minds to it. I struggle with this myself. It is so easy to make excuses for why you can not make changes. But it is just as easy to plan the change you want and smartly execute it. And if you do not know how, there are so many resources you can look to for help.

I also want to take the time to thank my advisor. My advisor was the one who initially inspired this entire project. It was by taking Basic Nutrition with her that sparked my large fascination with this subject. She helped and guided me through this experience and I think we both grew as intellectuals from it. Sometimes all it takes is that one person or that one event to find a passion in your life. I really do hope that as honors students and as all human beings, everyone is able to find what I found through this project.

Leave a comment